{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

The Carnot Cycle - σ H at point B The expansion is...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Carnot Cycle Though we have shown the net flow of energy and entropy, we haven't proposed a more specific mechanism for the heat engine. The most basic cycle is known as the Carnot cycle, and is simple if not completely accurate for a real engine. Still, it is beneficial to see a simplified picture to understand the basic concepts. The Carnot cycle consists of four phases. Refer to as we trace the steps of the cycle. At point A, the gas (it needn't be a gas necessarily) is at temperature τ h with entropy σ L where the latter represents the lowest entropy attained by the system during the cycle and is distinct from σ l . The gas is then expanded at constant temperature and the entropy is increased to
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: σ H at point B. The expansion is isothermal, that is, performed at a constant temperature. Now, the gas is expanded further, but at constant entropy. The temperature falls to τ l during this isentropic process and arrives at point C. The gas is then compressed isothermally to point D, and is compressed isentropically back to point A, thus completing one cycle. The total work accomplished by the system can be written from our previous results as W = Δτ × σ h . Looking at the figure again, we see that this is merely the area enclosed by the rectangle. This yields a nice graphical method of understanding a simple version of a heat engine. Figure %: A Carnot Cycle...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online