American Indian Citizenship 1_19

American Indian Citizenship 1_19 - 1/19 American Indian...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
1/19 American Indian Citizenship Indian Citizenship in 1865 o Not citizens of the United States – they occupy space in U.S. But are citizens of their own tribe first. o “Domestic Dependent Nations” – could not disobey US federal law. Could have own government and traditions and own land. Not nations in full extent of law. Couldn’t make treaties w/ other countries. o The Five Civilized Tribes – Creek, Cherokee, Seminole, Chickasaw, Choctaw (not on test) all from south. Held slaves Slavery Confederacy – supported by tribes, esp. Cherokee. Indians punished for supporting confederacy Oklahoma – Indians lose almost all of their land Two Basic Types of Citizenship o Jus soli – citizenship by place of birth o Jus sanguinis – citizenship by ethnic or racial bloodline (This is what the Native Americans used) The 14 th Amendment (1868) o States concepts of jus soli in section 1 o You would think American Indians automatically became US citizens also o Indians reluctant to become citizens. Were afraid to lose their government and land and traditions
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online