Computer Networks_Unit1_DB

Computer Networks_Unit1_DB - model has 7 layers while...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Computer Networks Unit 1 Discussion Board Kregg M. Soltow January 9, 2011 American Intercontinental University Describe the open systems interconnection (OSI) reference model's network and transport layers. The Open Systems Interconnection or OSI, Reference Model is a network model for layered communications. It consists of seven layers, starting with the Application layer, then the Presentation layer, the Session layer, the Transport layer, the Network layer, the Data link layer and the Physical layer. That being also the reason why this model is generally referred to as, the OSI Seven Layer Model. A client or web server network is generally built using the OSI reference model. (Tanenbaum,2002) The OSI model was developed by the International Organization for Standardization, or ISO. ( Zimmermann,1980) Compare the TCP/IP model to the OSI model. OSI model and TCP/IP model are different in terms of the number of layers. OSI
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: model has 7 layers, while TCP/IP has 4 layers in which Application, Presentation and Session layers are within Application layer of TCP/IP, and the Data Link and Physical layers are within the Link layer of TCP/IP. (Kozierok ,2005) The network layer of the OSI model provides both connectionless and connection-oriented services using the X.25 Packet Level Protocol, while the Internet layer of the TCP/IP model is exclusively connectionless. Reference OSI Reference Model, (1980), Hubert Zimmermann, IEEE Transactions on Communications, Vol. (4). ITU-T Recommendation Q.1400 ( 1993) , Architecture framework for the development of signaling and OA&M protocols using OSI concepts Charles M. Kozierok, "The TCP/IP Guide", No Starch Press 2005 Andrew Tanenbaum, Computer Networks, section 1.4.3, "The OSI model has seven layers and the TCP/IP has four layers."...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online