syllabus12 - Syllabus UGBA 103, Introduction to Finance...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Syllabus for UGBA 103 – Spring 2012 page 1 Syllabus UGBA 103, Introduction to Finance – Spring 2012 instructor : Professor Marcus M. Opp ( marcus.opp@berkeley.edu ) office : F647 office hours : Mondays: 2.30 pm – 3.30pm in F647 class time : Mon and Wed, 11:10 am – 12:30pm, F295 (Andersen Auditorium), Section 1 Mon and Wed, 12:40 pm – 02:00pm, F295 (Andersen Auditorium), Section 2 GSIs: Brian Ayash ( brian_ayash@haas.berkeley.edu , OH: Thursday, 3:30pm-5:00pm, F621) Rachita Gullapalli ( rachitag@berkeley.edu , OH: Friday, 12:30pm-2:00pm, F621) Brian Johnson ( brian_johnson@haas.berkeley.edu , OH: Tuesday, 11:00am-12.30pm, F621) Glenda Oskar ( goskar@econ.berkeley.edu , OH: Monday, 9:30am-11am , F621 ) Tomas Reyes ( tomas_reyes@haas.berkeley.edu , OH: Friday, 9:30am-11am, F621) class reps 01: Eileen Cheng ( eileencheng@berkeley.edu ) Rosa Huh ( huhrosa@berkeley.edu ) Shohei Narron ( shohei.narron@berkeley.edu ) Chang-Min (Kevin) Park ( kevinpark1122@berkeley.edu ) Kevin Wang ( kevinwang0405@berkeley.edu ) class reps 02: Richard Berwick ( ricberw@berkeley.edu ) Han Chang ( c-han-g@berkeley.edu ) Alan Cheng ( alancheng@berkeley.edu ) Jason Lim ( lim.jason@berkeley.edu ) Christine To ( christine.to@berkeley.edu ) sections : Sections are a good time for students to get help with problem sets, review course concepts, and ask questions in a relaxed environment. The first section is on Friday, January 27, 2012. overview : This is an introductory course in finance. Students learn how to value assets and businesses given forecasts of future cash flows. The course also concentrates on the risk characteristics of different asset classes. The first part of the course focuses on stocks, bonds and interest rates. The second part of the course deals with measuring and pricing risk. The third part of the course introduces students to valuation. The final part of the course introduces students to derivative instruments. This course will combine the theoretical underpinnings of finance with real-world examples, including several case discussions.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Syllabus for UGBA 103 – Spring 2012 page 2 required text : Corporate Finance, by Jonathan Berk and Peter DeMarzo, 2nd Edition, published by Pearson. ISBN: 0132745097
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 02/21/2012 for the course UGBA 103 taught by Professor Berk during the Spring '07 term at University of California, Berkeley.

Page1 / 4

syllabus12 - Syllabus UGBA 103, Introduction to Finance...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online