Syllabus - BIOLOGY 113 INTRODUCTORY BIOLOGY LECTURE...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
BIOLOGY 113 –INTRODUCTORY BIOLOGY LECTURE SYLLABUS, WINTER QUARTER, 2012 MWF 12:30-1:18 PM, HITCHCOCK HALL, ROOM 131 INSTRUCTORS : Dr. Donald H. Dean (dean.10@osu.edu), 292-8829, 772 BioSci Bldg. OFFICE HOURS : MW, 2:00-3:00 PM or ANY OTHER TIME BY APPOINTMENT Dr. Michael Weinstein (weinstein.41@osu.edu), 688-0164, 975 BioSci Bldg. OFFICE HOURS : TR, 1:00-3:00 PM or ANY OTHER TIME BY APPOINTMENT COURSE COORDINATOR : Amy Kulesza, 247-0029, JE255F, (kulesza.5@osu.edu), OFFICE HOURS : Walk-in, or by Appointment ASSISTANT COURSE COORDINATOR: Megan Clawson, 688-5495, JE255E, (clawson.31@osu.edu), OFFICE HOURS : Walk-in, or by Appointment LECTURE SCHEDULE & TEXTBOOK READING ASSIGNMENTS (Please read assignments before coming to lecture): DATE DAY TOPICS/READING ASSIGNMENTS (in Campbell et al.) Jan 4 Wednesday Organization, What is Life? (Chapter 1) Jan 6 Friday Origin of Life (Chapter 25) Jan 9 Monday Review of Molecular Diversity of Life & Macromolecules (Chapters 4 & 5) Jan 11 Wednesday Tour of the Cell (Chapter 6) Jan 13 Friday Membrane Structure and Function (Chapter 7) Jan 16 Monday MLK Day Holiday, No Classes Jan 18 Wednesday Introduction to Energy, Enzymes and Metabolism (Chapter 8) Jan 20 Friday Cell Respiration, Fermentation & Secondary Metabolism (Chapter 9) Jan 23 Monday Cell Respiration, Fermentation & Secondary Metabolism (Chapter 9) Jan 25 Wednesday Photosynthesis (Chapter 10) Jan 27 Friday Cell Communication, Regulation of Cell Cycle (Chapter 11) Jan 30 Monday Cell Cycle (Chapter 12) Feb 1 Wednesday MIDTERM EXAM Feb 3 Friday Meiosis and Sexual Life Cycles (Chapter 13) Feb 6 Monday Meiosis and Sexual Life Cycles (Chapter 13) Feb 8 Wednesday Mendel and the Gene Idea (Chapter 14) Feb 10 Friday Mendel and the Gene Idea (Chapter 14) Feb 13 Monday Chromosomal Basis of Inheritance (Chapter 15) Feb15 Wednesday Chromosomal Basis of Inheritance (Chapter 15) Feb17 Friday Molecular Basis of Inheritance (Chapter 16) Feb 20 Monday Molecular Basis of Inheritance (Chapter 16) Feb 22 Wednesday Genes to Proteins (Chapter 17) Feb 24 Friday Genes to Proteins (Chapter 17) Feb 27 Monday Regulation of Gene Expression (Chapter 18) Feb 29 Wednesday Regulation of Gene Expression (Chapter 18) Mar 2 Friday Viruses (Chapters 19) Mar 5 Monday Biotechnology (Chapter 20) Mar 7 Wednesday Biotechnology (Chapter 20) Mar 9 Friday Genomes and Their Evolution (Chapter 21) Mar 13 Tuesday FINAL EXAM: 11:30-1:18
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Description: Biology 113 is a course that, together with Biology 114, is designed to give the student an in-depth experience in the biological sciences. Science majors, including many health professionals, are the intended audience. The sequence will meet your General Education Curriculum in the Natural Sciences. For those of you in the Colleges of the Arts and Sciences, Biology 113-114 will meet the ten-hour sequence requirement. IF YOU DO NOT HAVE A STRONG SCIENCE BACKGROUND OR INTEREST, YOU MAY BELONG IN BIOLOGY 101-102; CONSULT YOUR ADVISOR. Prerequisite:
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 03/06/2012 for the course ECON 200 Bones taught by Professor Dr.elwonger during the Winter '12 term at Ohio State.

Page1 / 7

Syllabus - BIOLOGY 113 INTRODUCTORY BIOLOGY LECTURE...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online