ISO Open Systems

ISO Open Systems - Layer 4: Transport – divides data flow...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
 The most influential networking model is the ISO Open Systems Interconnection  Reference Model (OSI model). The OSI model was defined in 1978, and is described  in terms of seven layers. Following is a brief description of the hierarchy, in which 7 is  the highest and 1 is the lowest.  Layer 7: Application – provides networking services to higher-level applications (for  example, HTTP)  Layer 6: Presentation – provides system-based translation of the data stream, along  with compression and encryption where needed (for example, JPEG)  Layer 5: Session – initiates, maintains, and tears down the overall connection  between two devices (for example, NFS) 
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Layer 4: Transport – divides data flow into segments and numbers these to provide error detection and correction; handles windowing and congestion control (for example, TCP) Layer 3: Network – provides packet segmentation where needed, handles addressing issues and determines best route for sending the packet (for example, IP) Layer 2: Data Link – frames segments, providing them with a physical address and error checking (for example, switch filtering) Layer 1: Physical – encodes the frames into the transmission medium expression method for 1s and 0s (for example, Ethernet)...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 03/26/2012 for the course ITC 020 taught by Professor Abcd during the Spring '12 term at Andrew Jackson.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online