M16_2_EEM16-Syllabus-F11

M16_2_EEM16-Syllabus-F11 - Oct 27 Thu Standard...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Electrical Engineering Department Fall 2011 EEM16 Logic Design of Digital Systems Prof. Danijela Cabric Course Syllabus danijela@ee.ucla.edu Week Date Day Lecture Due Reading 1 Sep 22 Thu Introduction about Digital Systems Ch 1 2 Sep 27 Tue Combinational systems: Specification, Data representation, Switching functions Ch. 2.1-2.4.1 Appendix A Sep 29 Thu Combinational systems: Switching expressions, Karnaugh maps Ch. 2.4.2, 2.5, 2.6 3 Oct 4 Tue Combinational ICs: CMOS switches and gates and their characteristics Ch. 3 Oct 6 Thu Gate networks: Description and analysis HW 1 Ch. 4 4 Oct 11 Tue Gate networks: Design of two-level & minimal networks; PLAs and PALs; Ch. 5 Oct 13 Thu Sequential systems: Specifications, states, time behavior, reduction of state set HW 2 Ch. 7 5 Oct 18 Tue Sequential systems: Implementation, canonical networks Ch. 8 Oct 20 Thu Midterm (in class) Ch. 1-7 6 Oct 25 Tue Analysis and synthesis, sequential networks with flip-flops HW 3 Ch. 8
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Oct 27 Thu Standard combinational modules: encoders, decoders Ch.9 7 Nov 1 Tue Standard combinational modules: multiplexers, demultiplexers, shifters Ch. 9 Nov 3 Thu Arithmetic combinational modules and networks: addition, and signed integer representation HW 4 Ch. 10 8 Nov 8 Tue Addition, Subtraction, Comparison Nov 10 Thu Twos complement basic operations; ALU; Multipliers HW 5 Ch. 10 9 Nov 15 Tue Standard sequential modules and networks: registers, shift registers Ch. 11 Nov 17 Thu Standard sequential modules and networks: counters, multi module systems HW 6 Ch. 11 10 Nov 22 Tue Networks using combinational modules: decoders, encoders, shifters, adders and multipliers Nov 24 Thu Thanksgiving holiday 11 Nov 29 Tue Networks using registers, shift registers, and counter modules. HW 7 Dec 1 Thu Final Review Textbook: M.D. Ercegovac, T. Lang, and J. Moreno, Introduction to Digital Systems, John Wiley & Sons, New York, 1999, ISBN 0-471-57299-8...
View Full Document

Ask a homework question - tutors are online