Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–2. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
MONETARY STANDARDS  The type of  STANDARD   MONEY  (money of ultimate redemption) in a monetary system.  The two basic types of monetary standards, therefore are commodity standards and  flat standards. Commodity Standards.   The two commodities principally used  as standard  money in monetary history have been gold and silver. 1. Gold standards may be classified as follows: a.  Gold coin standard. b.  Gold bullion standard. с. Gold exchange standard. 2. Silver standards may be classified as follows: a.  Silver coin standard. b.  Silver bullion standard, с. Silver exchange standard. 3. Bimetallic   standards—in   which   the   STANDARD   OF   VALUE   is   defined   as either   of   the   two   monetary   metals,   gold   and   silver,   in   specific quantity and fineness for each—may be similarly classifiable as to: a.  Bimetallic coin standard. b. Bimetallic bullion standard.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Image of page 2
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/10/2012 for the course ECON 101 taught by Professor Gonalez during the Spring '12 term at Université de Bourgogne.

Page1 / 2


This preview shows document pages 1 - 2. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online