january23 - rsis(sages through sound Not until the Muslims...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
1. Until recently, a person could not become a Hindu; they must be born a Hindu. 2. Hindus call their religion Sanatana Dharma , which means “eternal laws”. 3. Sanatana Dharma has many factions called Sampradayas, which differ in beliefs, rituals, and places of worship. 4. Dharma is the universal law of Indian society and the regulation of all aspects of life according to its principles. It divides Indian society into 4 tiers called varnas . 5. The religious literature of the Hindus is called the Rgveda and is one of the oldest religious books in history. Within the Rgveda , Indra is glorified as a powerful ally and helper in the battles against hostile tribes. 6. The Hindi Holy Land is called Bharat Mata , which is translated as Mother India; however, it is much more than just a Holy Land. India is more than just a Holy Land; its geography is interwoven into the religion. 7. In ancient times, the Veda was only communicated to the
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full DocumentRight Arrow Icon
Background image of page 2
Background image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: rsis (sages) through sound. Not until the Muslims invaded was the Veda transcribed. 8. Hinduism uses mantras to create power and to ask help from the deities. One of these mantras is OM (AUM); it is an “all-word”. It makes up every letter of the alphabet and thus every word. It means everything. 9. As all other religions, Hinduism not only shapes society, but also, shapes individuals lives. Hindus base their daily routines on the varnasramadharma , which is based on one’s varna (social stratum) and one’s asramas (stages in life). 10. Within the hierarchy of Hinduism there are 4 tiers, Brahmins, Kstriyas , Vaisyas , and Sudras . The Brahmins are the religious leaders, the Kstriyasi are the warriors and rulers, the vaisyas are the businesspeople and artisans and the sudras are the servants of the 3 other upper castes. ← ←...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 04/07/2008 for the course THEO 199 taught by Professor Zakin during the Spring '08 term at Loyola Chicago.

Page1 / 3

january23 - rsis(sages through sound Not until the Muslims...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online