{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

Music History1

Music History1 - Music History Chapter 26 Franz Liszt...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Music History Chapter 26 – Franz Liszt Reading notes: Birth date: October 22, 1811 in Raiding, Hnugary Death Date: July 31, 1886 At age 10, went to Vienna for piano studies with Carl Czerny. (Beethoven’s prodigy) Only instruction was the year spent with Czerny 1848 he gave up concerts and became a director at the court of the grand duke Became devoted to performance of contemporary operatic and symphonic music. Originator of Piano Recital No recordings of his music Often considered a “people pleaser” in his music making Sonata B minor ranks as his greatest composition(p 416) -consists of 3 joined movements: Allegro energico, Andante sostentuto, Allegro energico Concerto No1. In E-flat major is most frequently heard of his piano/orchestra work (419) -written in Liszt’s best virtuoso style -4 movements: Allegro maestoso, Quasi adagio, Allegretto vivace, Allegro marziale animato Totentanz seldom attains recognition because of the virtuosity demanded of the soloist -one of the best examples of the emphasis on both diabolic and religious that characterizes many of his works Symphonic poem- one of the more important contributions to the Romantic movement (420/421) -doesn’t have specific form; performed as a single movement; posses own definite musical logic; formal plan is dictated by its extra-musical associations; however contains basic principles such as balance Les Preludes- title from a poem (Meditations poetiques by French poet Alphonse de Lamartine) -originally to work a male chorus, Les Quatre Elements; Liszt re-wrote it -Consists of 4 well contrasted sections prefaced by a short intro. And 2 themes -1 st theme: short motive of 3 notes Class notes: Program music: tells a story symphonic poem/tone poem – most highly developed ; free form; performed in a single movement and has no breaks Traditional symphony has 4 movement- fast (stop music)-slow- ?-? (break in between all movements) Franz Liszt: known as father of symphonic poem Poetic suggestion- makes music suggest the symbol Saint-Seans – beginning of realism, GRAPHIC REPRESENTATION- puts real sounds in music R. Strauss- German composer, brought symphonic poem to a stage of realism FRANZ LISZT: Hungarian musician; Dad taught him to play piano; went to Vienna to study with Carl Czerny Denied entrance to Paris Conservatory since he was not born in France, studied Reicha (flutist) 1st ambition was opera and at 14 had one produced; but became a concert pianist
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Paganini, Liszt’s idol May have been greatest pianist of all time, but no recordings ever made Choir master at Weimar, Germany – introduced many of Wagner’s opera’s 1861 moved to Rome- began to study old chants of church and began to write music for church -Pope allowed him to continue to work in Weimar and Budapest REMEMBER FOR TEST: Turned away from reform of classic symphony- let the form be dictated by the shaping form of the text Would bring his themes back in other movements Theme Transformation-use of 1 or more themes as basis for an entire composition
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Page1 / 11

Music History1 - Music History Chapter 26 Franz Liszt...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon bookmark
Ask a homework question - tutors are online