Governing Structures

Governing Structures - Chapter 5: Governing Structures...

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Chapter 5: Governing Structures Government Type : Constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary government; The emperor does not have any effective power but is only the symbol of the state. Legislature: The Japanese parliament is called the Diet. The bicameral Diet or Kokkai consists of the House of Councillors or Sangi-in (242 seats - members elected for six-year terms; half reelected every three years; 146 members in multi-seat constituencies and 96 by proportional representation) and the House of Representatives or Shugi-in (480 seats - members elected for four-year terms; 300 in single-seat constituencies; 180 members by proportional representation in 11 regional blocs) The members of the Diet are elected by the Japanese people. Executive: The cabinet is headed by the Prime Minister. Current prime minister is Shinzo Abe. The cabinet further consists of the ministers, which are appointed by the prime minister and are usually members of the Diet. The prime minister is elected by the Diet.
Background image of page 1
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

This note was uploaded on 04/07/2008 for the course SOC 260 taught by Professor Ueda during the Spring '08 term at Spelman.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online