commission on fiscal imbalance 合集

3 decentralized authorities are democratic

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: ance than in the southern and eastern parts). Since 1992, the federative formula, which is the most integrative, has enjoyed the greatest success. ♦ As of January 1, 1998, a total of 17 760 communes had grouped together, equivalent to 48.4% of the population. One commune in two belongs to a group of communes with its own taxation, whether in urban, near-urban or rural areas. 3.2. The jurisdictional map is no … “French formal garden” ♦ Legislation attributes to local authorities a number of compulsory jurisdictions. The authorities are free to assume other jurisdictions. ♦ Legislation governing decentralization and jurisdictions adopted in 1982, 1983, 1984 and 1986 has organized a “rational” redistribution of blocks of jurisdictions, which reality has hastened to complicate. ♦ The regions have been assigned jurisdiction over land use planning and development, regional planning, assistance to businesses, ongoing vocational training and apprenticeship, river ports and navigable waterways, fishing fleets and aquaculture, construction and the maintenance of high schools. ♦ The departments are responsible for social action and health, maritime ports and aquaculture, non-urban school transportation, the maintenance and construction of colleges, and assistance in respect of rural amenities. ♦ The communes are responsible for urban planning (documents, planning and authorization to use land), general jurisdiction over local urban services, the construction and maintenance of nursery and primary schools, libraries, occupational health and general health services, sports facilities, urban public transport, and jurisdictions exercised on behalf of the State, e.g. civil status and voters’ lists. ♦ All communal jurisdictions may be transferred to intercommunal groups (except for police powers). The groups manage a wide range of services that has continued to grow over the years (ranging from two jurisdictions, on average, in the case of groups with additional taxation powers, to eight for groups with integrated taxation). Some jurisdictions are compulsory for certain types of intercommunal groups, e.g. the new communautés d’agglomération established by the law of July 12, 1999. 229 Commission on Fiscal Imbalance The following table indicates the division of key jurisdictions. Jurisdiction Authorities Education: Construction and maintenance Staff remuneration State, communes, departments and regions State Social action Departments and communes Management of hospitals State Water, garbage Communes and intercommunal groups Road maintenance State, regions, departments and communes Public transportation Regions, departments, communes and intercommunal groups Economic development State, regions, departments, communes and intercommunal groups 3.3. Decentralized authorities are democratic authorities Since the adoption of the laws of 1982-1986: ♦ all of the authorities, except public intercommunal establishments, have deliberative assemblies elected by universal suffrage for six years thro...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 03/06/2013 for the course ECON 220 taught by Professor Paulo during the Spring '13 term at University of Liverpool.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online