The parenchyma is the critical functional portion of

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: renchyma is the critical ‘functional’ portion of the gland or organ. Traditionally, the parenchymal cells are : Liver – hepatocyte Skin keratinocyte Skeletal Muscle – skeletal muscle cell/myocyte Heart – cardiomyocyte Kidney – tubule epithelial cells Lung – alveolar epithelial cells epithelial cells Brain – neurons Small intestine – enterocytes Adipose tissue (endocrine glands) adipocytes Glands – mixture of secretory cells Etc. * we previously explored how glial cells allowed neurones to function the single perspective (slide 10) The non parenchymal cells in tissues/organs* form the Basic Logic Unit of the Local Support and Defense System The cell types are: and efferent nerve endings 1. Afferent and efferent nerve endings 2. Capillary endothelial cells 3. Support and Defense cells of Lymphoid Origin ( resident T cells, resident B Cells, NK and NKT cells) 4. Support and Defense Cells of Myeloid Origin (neutrophils, macrophages, dendritic cells and mast cells) 5. Fibroblast/Myofibroblast /Pericyte Cells 6. Stem Cells (in stem cell niche) * (a really functional bed) *Called the stroma (bed, mat, framework) in the peripheral organs when extracellular matrix components (protein –carbohydrate network) are included… traditionally, the stroma ‘supports’ the functional portion of a gland or organ. 6 02/02/2012 Pancreas and the Local Suppor...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online