exam one csr

exam one csr - Corporate Social Responsibility Exam One...

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Corporate Social Responsibility Exam One 10/15/2007 1.Kohlbergs stages or moral development are divided into six stages. Kohlberg then divides those stages into three different levels. The three levels are pre- conventional, conventional, and post-conventional. There are two levels in each one of the stages of moral development. The first level is heteronymous morality and secondly instrumental purpose and exchange. The second level includes stages three and four. Three is mutual interpersonal expectations, relationships, and interpersonal conformity. Stage four is social system and conscience. The third level of moral development is stages five and six. Five is the social contract stage and six is the universal ethical principles stage. The pre-conventional level is the most basic of the three levels. Decisions in this stage are made in this level based purely on gaining the most pleasure and avoiding punishment and pain, which in my opinion is human nature. The first stage (heteronymous morality) is the simplest of all stages. This is when people act only to avoid punishment and gain as much for themselves as possible. The most major difference from the other stages is individuals’ inability to recognize that other people have their own point of view. The second stage of the pre-conventional level is the instrumental purpose and exchange stage. In this stage people’s behavior is controlled by what is most beneficial for ones self but at the same time acknowledging others points of view. The next level, the conventional level, is stages three and four. In both of these stages people judge the morality of their actions based on the norms of the
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
society as a whole. Stage three is mutual interpersonal expectations, relationships and interpersonal conformity stage. This stage involves doing what is expected of you by society. The golden rule, as it was taught to me consists of treating others as you would like to be treated is the most important part of this stage. The next stage is the first stage that the individual will put the rights of societies in front of their own. It is the basis for society, in this stage individual’s act to do things in order to maintain a functioning society. The most advanced and final level in moral development is the post- conventional level. The fifth stage is based on social contracts between all individuals. In this stage laws are seen as fair and commonly agreed upon. This stage is the bases for democracy. It also calls for a majority decision and can also result in compromise between individuals. The final stage of the moral development is the universal ethical principles stage. This stage brings us back to individual thinking and action. However the individual believes in universal equality for all human rights. Although this stage brings us back to individual thinking and action for ones self the person acts in ways that help all individuals. I feel visionary leadership begins at stage four in moral development.
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Page1 / 12

exam one csr - Corporate Social Responsibility Exam One...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Ask a homework question - tutors are online