SPM 325 - lecture 10

Watch danicas record breaking lap prior to sunday

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: Chevrolet also becomes the first Sunoco Rookie of the Year candidate to win the Daytona 500 pole since Jimmie Johnson in 2002 and the first woman to qualify for The Sprint Unlimited. WATCH DANICA'S RECORD-BREAKING LAP Prior to Sunday, there had been just two Coors Light Poles earned by a woman, Patrick last year at Daytona and Shawna Robinson in Atlanta in 1994, both of which came in NASCAR Nationwide Series competition. This will be the best starting position for a female in Sprint Cup history, eclipsing Janet Guthrie’s starting position of ninth at Talladega and Bristol, both in 1977. In 1980, Guthrie started 18th in the Daytona 500, formerly the best start for a woman in Daytona 500 history. She finished 11th in that race. Jeff Gordon was second on the leaderboard in the No. 24 Drive to End Hunger Chevrolet with a time of 45.85 and a top speed of 196.292, followed by Trevor Bayne’s 45.924 (195.976). QUALIFYING EXPLAINED Patrick’s SHR teammates Ryan Newman and Tony Stewart rounded out the top-five, with the 2008 Daytona 500 winner Newman coming in at 45.931 (195.946) and the three-time Sprint Cup Series champion Stewart finishing in 45.936 with a top speed of 195.925. Matt Kenseth, winner of the 2012 Daytona 500, placed 10th on Sunday with a time of 45.983 (195.725) in the No. 20 Dollar General Toyota for his new home, Joe...
View Full Document

This note was uploaded on 02/05/2014 for the course SPM 325 taught by Professor Dennisdeninger during the Fall '12 term at Syracuse.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online