PSY 101 Lecture 10-21-11

Personality the

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: nctual impulses Ego: attempts to balance the instinctual demands of the id with social realities and expectations Superego: corresponds to an internal moral guardian or conscience The Structure of Personality The pleasure principle: a governing principle of the id that is based on demands for instant gratification without regard to social rules or customs reality principle: the governing principle of the ego that takes into account what is practical and acceptable in satisfying basic needs Defense Mechanisms Defense reality­distorting strategies of the ego to prevent awareness of anxiety­evoking or troubling ideas or impulses Stages of Personality Development Stages personality develops through 5 psychosexual stages of development • Determined by how the child seeks physical pleasure from sexually sensitive parts of the body ­ erogenous zones • Fixations: personality traits or behavior patterns characteristics of the particular stage Stages of personality development Stages Stages • • • • • Oral Anal Phallic Latency Genital Stages of Personality Development Stages Oral Stage (0­1 year) primary erogenous zone is the mouth • oral stimulation provides sexual gratification and needed nourishment • oral fixations too much gratification: smoking, nail biting, alcohol abuse, overeating too little gratification: passivity, clinging dependence, pessimistic outlook Stages of Personality Development Stages Anal Stage (1­3 years) primary erogenous zone is the anal cavity • The child achieves sexual pleasure through the purposeful retention and release of bowel contents • anal fixations anal retentive personality: perfectionism and extreme need for self control, orderliness, cleanliness, and neatness anal­expulsive personality: messiness, lack of self­discipline, and carelessness Stages of Personality Development Stages Phallic Stage (3­6 years) erogenous zone shifts to the phallic region (penis and clitoris) • Oe...
View Full Document

This document was uploaded on 02/20/2014 for the course PSY 101 at SUNY Buffalo.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online