Is domesticated and commonly cultivated the taxonomy

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: ly Arachis hypogaea L. is domesticated and commonly cultivated. The taxonomy of the genus Arachis has been well documented and includes 37 named species and a number of undescribed species. The genus has been divided into nine sections i.e., Arachis, Caulorrhizae, Erectoides, Extranervosae, Heteranthae, Procumbentes, Rhizomatosae, Trierectoides and Triseminalae. The section Arachis comprises an annual and perennial diploid (2n = 20) and two annual tetraploids (2n = 4x = 40). The leaves of Arachis hypogaea L. are tetrafoliolate, and plants are typically erect or decumbent and pegs penetrate the soil at an angle of approximately 45°. Most of the earlier classifications of Arachis hypogaea L. were based on growth habit, presence or absence of seed dormancy and relative time to maturity. In later classifications, characters such as branching pattern and location of reproductive branches have been included. Cultivated groundnuts are divided into two large botanical groups, Virginia and SpanishValencia, on the basis...
View Full Document

This document was uploaded on 02/23/2014.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online