In 1984 the rst robinson professors a group of

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: y to grant doctoral degrees and began offering programs at this level. In the same year, the university acquired the School of Law, located at the Arlington Campus. In 1984, the first Robinson Professors, a group of outstanding scholars committed to undergraduate teaching and interdisciplinary scholarship, joined the faculty as the result of a generous bequest from Clarence J. Robinson. Drawing prominent scholars from all fields, Mason’s outstanding faculty also includes Nobel laureate in economic sciences James M. Buchanan; Pulitzer Prize winners; IEEE Centennial Medallists; and recipients of numerous grants and awards, including Fulbright, Templeton, National Science Foundation, and National Endowment for the Arts, among others. Endowed chairs have also brought many artists and scholars to campus. In 1985, Mason, in partnership with area businesses, developed an engineering program geared toward the emerging information technology field and started the School of Information Technology and Engin...
View Full Document

This document was uploaded on 03/01/2014 for the course CRIM 475 at George Mason.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online