Martinez 67 ust golden notes 2011 these decisions or

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: e Court held that the “no report, no release” policy may not be validly enforced against offices vested with fiscal autonomy, without violating Sec. 5, Art. IX‐A of the Constitution. The automatic release of approved annual appropriations to a Constitutional Commission vested with fiscal autonomy should thus be construed to mean that no condition to fund releases may be imposed. (CSC v. DBM, G.R. No. 158791, July 22, 2005) Q: What are the prohibitions and inhibitions attached to the officers of Constitutional Commissions? A: No member of a Constitutional Commission shall, during his tenure: 1. 2. 3. 4. Hold any other office or employment Engage in the practice of any profession Engage in the active management and control of any business which in any way may be affected by the function of his office Be financially interested, directly or indirectly, in any contract with, or in any franchise or privilege granted by the Government, any of its subdivisions, agencies or instrumentalities, including GOCCs or their subsidiaries Q: Discuss the certiorari jurisdiction of the SC over these Commissions. A: Proceedings are limited to issues involving grave abuse of discretion resulting in lack or excess of jurisdiction and does not ordinarily empower the Court to review the factual findings of the Commissions. (Aratuc v. COMELEC, G.R. No. L‐49705‐09, Feb. 8, 1979) Q: What are the requisites for the effective operation of the rotational scheme of terms of constitutional bodies? POLITICAL LAW TEAM: ADVISER: ATTY. EDWIN REY SANDOVAL; SUBJECT HEAD: RACHEL MARIE L. FELICES; ASST. SUBJECT HEADS: WIVINO E. BRACERO II & HERAZEUS CHRISTINE Y. UY; MEMBERS: LAWRENCE PAULO H. AQUINO, LEANDRO RODEL V. ATIENZA, MARINETH EASTER AN D. AYOS, CARLO R. BALA, WILFREDO T. BONILLA, JR., KEEL ACHERNAR R. DINOY, APRIL V. ENRILE, KENNETH JAMES CARLO C. HIZON, JOSE MARIA G. MENDOZA, ROGER CHRISTOPHER R. REYES, ROMILINDA C. SIBAL, JASMIN M. SISON, ZARAH PATRICIA T. SUAREZ, RALPH JULIOUS L. VILLAMOR. CONSTITUTIONAL COMMI...
View Full Document

This document was uploaded on 03/12/2014.

Ask a homework question - tutors are online