Lymphatic organs 3 major organs are tonsils thymus

Info iconThis preview shows page 1. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

Unformatted text preview: vessels (trunks) merge to form lymphatic ducts that drain into venous system 3. Lymphatic organs – 3 major organs are tonsils, thymus and spleen; scattered aggregations of lymphocytes in digestive and respiratory systems (MALT  ­ mucous associated lymphoid tissue) Lymph nodes (LN): bean shaped, mm ­cm size, receive afferent lymphatic vessels to filter lymph • At hillum (concave border), 1 ­2 efferent lymphatic vessels emerge • Each node is surrounded by a capsule and has sinuses that extend into the medulla of node, carrying lymph from afferent v...
View Full Document

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Ask a homework question - tutors are online