GRADING ALGORITHM Here is the formula that will form the basis of your grade

Grading algorithm here is the formula that will form

This preview shows page 4 - 6 out of 6 pages.

GRADING ALGORITHM Here is the formula that will form the basis of your grade: Prelecture Quizzes 20% (11 out of 14 required) In class Participation (Piazza) 10% 4 th Hour Attendance 10% (7 out of 9 required) Midterm Exams: 40% (20% each) Final Exam 20% Grades will be rounded to the nearest whole number, and assigned a letter as follows: F D D+ C- C C+ B- B B+ A- A <=64 65-66 67-69 70-72 73-76 77-79 80-82 83-86 87-89 90-92 >=93 ACADEMIC HONESTY I expect that everyone will abide by the Mount Holyoke College honor code both in and out of the classroom. Note that sharing quiz or exam answers (in or out of class) are in violation of the College honor code. Moreover, in order to protect the integrity of the honor code, I request that you report violations that you witness (anonymously, if preferred) to me. Any student found to be in violation of the honor code could receive a failing grade for the class and be reported to the Academic Honor Board . For more information on the honor code, consult the student handbook ( pdf ). CLASSROOM ENVIRONMENT I expect that everyone will strive to maintain a mutually respectful classroom environment that is conducive to learning and the open exchange of ideas. In this spirit, I ask you to arrive on-time for class and refrain from packing up your things before class ends. In addition, please refrain from using personal electronic devices for anything that is not class-related.
Image of page 4
Introduction to Psychology Fall 2017 Day Date Lecture Topic Assignment 4 th Hour Weds 9/6/17 Introduction Fri 9/8/17 Textbook/Notes/Research Credit Mon 9/11/17 Psychology: Evolution of a Science Chapter 1 Weds 9/13/17 Methods in Psychology Chapter 2 Fri 9/15/17 No 4 th Hour Professor Away Mon 9/18/17 Neuroscience and Behavior Chapter 3 Weds 9/20/17 Neuroscience and Behavior Fri 9/22/17 4 th Hour Sebastian Seung Mon 9/25/17 Sensation and Perception Chapter 4 Weds 9/27/17 Sensation and Perception Fri 9/29/17 4 th Hour: Russell Foster Mon 10/2/17 Consciousness Chapter 5 Weds 10/4/17 Wrap-Up and Review Fri 10/6/17 EXAM 1 Mon 10/9/17 MID-SEMESTER BREAK Weds 10/11/17 Memory Chapter 6 Fri 10/13/17 4 th Hour: Elizabeth Loftus Mon 10/16/17 Memory Weds 10/18/17 Learning Chapter 7 Fri 10/20/17 4 th Hour: Amy Cuddy Mon 10/23/17 Emotion and Motivation Chapter 8 Weds 10/25/17 Emotion and Motivation Fri 10/27/17 4 th Hour: Dan Ariely Mon 10/30/17 Language and Thought Chapter 9 Weds 11/1/17 Language and Thought Fri 11/3/17 4 th Hour: Sheena Iyengar Mon 11/6/17 Intelligence Chapter 10 Weds 11/8/17 Wrap-Up and Review Fri 11/10/17 EXAM 2 Mon 11/13/17 Development Chapter 11 Guest Lecture by Prof. Haydon Weds 11/15/17 Development Fri 11/17/17 4 th Hour: Alison Gopnik Mon 11/20/17 Social Psychology Chapter 13 Weds 11/22/17 THANKSGIVING BREAK Fri 11/24/17 THANKSGIVING BREAK Mon 11/27/17 Stress and Health Chapter 14 Weds 11/29/17 Psychological Disorders Chapter 15 Fri 12/1/17 4 th Hour: Nadine Burke Harris Mon 12/4/17 Psychological Disorders Weds 12/6/17 Treatment of Disorders Chapter 16 Fri 12/8/17 4 th Hour: Martin Seligman Mon 12/11/17 Wrap-Up and Review
Image of page 5
Introduction to Psychology Fall 2017
Image of page 6

You've reached the end of your free preview.

Want to read all 6 pages?

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

Stuck? We have tutors online 24/7 who can help you get unstuck.
A+ icon
Ask Expert Tutors You can ask You can ask You can ask (will expire )
Answers in as fast as 15 minutes