A 50 B 35 C 275 D 75 Exercise 8312 REVIEW QUESTION 12 Solution on p 150 Based

A 50 b 35 c 275 d 75 exercise 8312 review question 12

This preview shows page 152 - 157 out of 236 pages.

A.50%B.35%C.27.5%D.75%Exercise 8.3.12: REVIEW QUESTION 12(Solution on p. 150.)Based upon the above information, are living in student housing within five miles of the campusand receiving some kind of financial aid mutually exclusive?A.Yes
Background image
147B.NoC.Cannot be determinedExercise 8.3.13: REVIEW QUESTION 13(Solution on p. 150.)The interest rate charged on the financial aid is _______ data.A.quantitative discreteB.quantitative continuousC.qualitative discreteD.qualitativeExercise 8.3.14: REVIEW QUESTION 14(Solution on p. 150.)What follows is information about the students who receive financial aid at the local communitycollege.1st quartile = $2502nd quartile = $7003rd quartile = $1200(These amounts are for the school year.)If a sample of 200 students is taken, how many areexpected to receive $250 or more?The next two problems refer to the following information:P(A) =0.2 ,P(B) =0.3 ,AandBareindependent events.Exercise 8.3.15: REVIEW QUESTION 15(Solution on p. 150.)P(AANDB) =A.0.5B.0.6C.0D.0.06Exercise 8.3.16: REVIEW QUESTION 16(Solution on p. 150.)P(AORB) =A.0.56B.0.5C.0.44D.1Exercise 8.3.17: REVIEW QUESTION 17(Solution on p. 150.)IfHandDare mutually exclusive events,P(H) =0.25 ,P(D) =0.15 , thenP(H|D)A.1B.0C.0.40D.0.0375
Background image
148CHAPTER 8. CONFIDENCE INTERVALSSolutions to Exercises in Chapter 8Solutions to HomeworkSolution to Exercise 8.2.1 (p. 135)a. i.71ii.3iii.2.8iv.48v.47c.N71,348d. i.CI: (70.15,71.85)iii.EB = 0.85Solution to Exercise 8.2.3 (p. 135)a. i.8629ii.6944iii.35iv.34c.t34d. i.CI: (6244, 11,014)iii.EB = 2385e.It will become smallerSolution to Exercise 8.2.5 (p. 136)a. i.8ii.4iii.81iv.80c.t80d. i.CI: (7.12, 8.88)iii.EB = 0.88Solution to Exercise 8.2.7 (p. 137)a. i.2ii.0.1iii .0.12iv.16v.15b.the weight of 1 small bag of candiesc.the mean weight of 16 small bags of candiesd.N2,0.116e. i.CI: (1.96, 2.04)iii.EB = 0.04f. i.CI: (1.94, 2.06)iii.EB = 0.06Solution to Exercise 8.2.9 (p. 138)a. i.6ii.3
Background image
149iii.14iv.13b.the time for a child to remove his training wheelsc.the mean time for 14 children to remove their training wheels.d.t13e. i.CI: (3.58, 8.42)iii.EB = 2.42Solution to Exercise 8.2.11 (p. 138)a. i.320ii .400iii.0.80c.N0.80,q(0.80)(0.20)400d. i.CI: (0.76, 0.84)iii.EB = 0.04Solution to Exercise 8.2.13 (p. 139)b.N0.61,q(0.61)(0.39)1200c. i.CI: (0.59, 0.63)iii.EB = 0.02Solution to Exercise 8.2.15 (p. 140)b.N0.86,q(0.86)(0.14)323c. i.CI: (0.823, 0.898)iii.EB = 0.038Solution to Exercise 8.2.17 (p. 140)a. i.7.9ii.2.5iii.2.8iv.20v.19c.N7.9,2.520d. i.CI: (6.98, 8.82)iii.EB: 0.92Solution to Exercise 8.2.19 (p. 141)a.t83b.mean cost of 84 used carsc. i.CI: (5740.10, 7109.90)iii.EB = 684.90Solution to Exercise 8.2.21 (p. 142)b.N0.63,q(0.63)(0.37)1000c. i.CI: (0.60, 0.66)iii.EB = 0.03
Background image
150CHAPTER 8. CONFIDENCE INTERVALSSolution to Exercise 8.2.24 (p. 142)CSolution to Exercise 8.2.25 (p. 143)ASolution to Exercise 8.2.26 (p. 143)DSolution to Exercise 8.2.27 (p. 143)BSolution to Exercise 8.2.28 (p. 143)CSolution to Exercise 8.2.29 (p. 143)CSolution to Exercise 8.2.30 (p. 144)CSolution to Exercise 8.2.31 (p. 144)ASolutions to Review QuestionsSolution to Exercise 8.3.1 (p. 145)REVIEW QUESTION 1 Solution : CSolution to Exercise 8.3.2 (p. 145)REVIEW QUESTION 2 Solution : 0.9951Solution to Exercise 8.3.3 (p. 145)REVIEW QUESTION 3 Solution : 12.99Solution to Exercise 8.3.4 (p. 145)REVIEW QUESTION 4 Solution : CSolution to Exercise 8.3.5 (p. 145)REVIEW QUESTION 5 Solution : BSolution to Exercise 8.3.6 (p. 145)
Background image
Image of page 157

You've reached the end of your free preview.

Want to read all 236 pages?

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

Stuck? We have tutors online 24/7 who can help you get unstuck.
A+ icon
Ask Expert Tutors You can ask You can ask You can ask (will expire )
Answers in as fast as 15 minutes