{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

DSST World Religion Notes

Vishnu deity several incarnations throughout hindu

Info iconThis preview shows pages 1–3. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
Vishnu (deity)– several incarnations throughout Hindu – multiple animal and human forms to rid of evil and to establish Dharma – In the Bhagavad Gita – Vishnu comes to earth incarnation as Krishna Holi – most popular Hindu festival that is dedicated to the god Krishna, celebrated in February/March to welcome spring Krishna is one of the eight incarnations of the god Vishna most popular Hindu gods Shiva great god – several simultaneous and mutually contradicting roles; his is both threatening but benevolent, both creator and destroyer – during the post Upanishadic Era – his energy was commonly manifested in sexual terms Laws of Manu – text that discussed the nature of righteousness, moral duty and law and helped form the basis for Hindu laws. Most famous of treatises written on these subjects. Law of Manu - It discusses Hindu caste system (4 tiered) social community a person belongs. A person’s past Karma determines the caste they belong.
Background image of page 1

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
1. Brahmins Class – TOP - Priests, only ones allowed to teach and learn the Vedas 2. Kshatriya Class - 2 nd – Kings and Rulers – dharma was to protect people and the country, allowed to learn but not teach the Vedas 3. Vaishya Class – 3 rd – mercantile – responsible for wealth and economic decisions 4. Shudra Class – lowest class- only duty was to serve the other classes especially the Brahmins – could not learn or teach the Vedas 5. Untouchables – considered outcasts - Legislation passed that banned discriminating against this group in the mid 1900s. – performed (street cleaning, cleaning toilets, washing clothes, handling dead) Dharma – to Hindus means their social and religious duty British ruled over India (notable empires before British rule were – Mauryas, Guptas, and the Mughals Satyagraha –non- violence or “truth and persuade” campaign led by Ghandi to gain independence for India from British rule Hindu – believes that the universe has been created and destroyed many times, currently in: Kali Yuga – the fourth and last age, has around 400,000 years before destruction Samsara – reincarnation or the repeating cycle of rebirths 4 Aims of Life 1. Kama Sutra is a Hindu text written about sex, sensual pleasure 2. Moksha is liberation from Samsara (cycle of rebirth) once achieved moves to Atman 3. Atman human soul or self escapes the cycle of rebirth and joins the universal soul, Brahman 4. Bhaki Movement – believed that deities entered the world as gracious beings for the benefit of humans. Thrived in South India focusing on the lives of 12 poet saints who composed hymns in the southern Indian language of Tamil, Bhaki – means “devotion” ardent and hopeful devotion to a particular deity in recognition of aid received or promised Hinduism Tantric Teachings – center upon a body of ritual practices that are otherwise socially unacceptable outside of the Vedic and brahminical tradition Mantra – an expression chanted repeatedly as a focus on concentration in meditation, short syllable or phrase believed to be sacred Theosophy – is a religion created by Madame Blavatsky in the late 1800, a psychic claimed to have channeled a
Background image of page 2
Image of page 3
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

Page1 / 21

Vishnu deity several incarnations throughout Hindu multiple...

This preview shows document pages 1 - 3. Sign up to view the full document.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon bookmark
Ask a homework question - tutors are online