Add on products if you made changes to netbackup

This preview shows page 102 - 106 out of 169 pages.

Add-on productsIf you made changes to NetBackup scripts before theupgrade, apply those changes to the new, upgraded versionsof the scripts.NetBackup scriptsAutomatic file changes from an upgradeWhen you upgrade from an earlier NetBackup version, certain customizable scriptsare overwritten. Before NetBackup overwrites these scripts, it saves copies ofthem as a record of your modifications.The following examples describe how this process works:Your current NetBackup version is 6.5 and you modifiedfiles in the goodies directory. For example:/usr/openv/netbackup/goodiesAfter an upgrade to NetBackup 7.5, the following directoryis created automatically and contains the modified filesfrom the earlier version:/usr/openv/netbackup/goodies.6.5If you made changes to these scripts before the upgrade,apply those changes to the new 7.5 scripts.Example 1: goodies directoryYour current NetBackup version is 6.5 and you modifiedfiles in the bin directory. For example:/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/backup_notifyAfter an upgrade to NetBackup 7.5, any modified scripts inthe bin directory now include the earlier version in theirfile name. For example:backup_notify.6.5If you made changes to these scripts before the upgrade,apply those changes to the new 7.5 scripts.Example 2: bin directoryUpgrading server and client softwareAutomatic file changes from an upgrade102
Table 5-1describes the files and scripts that are overwritten when you upgradefrom an earlier UNIX version of NetBackup:Table 5-1Overwritten files and scripts on UNIX systemsAffected files and scriptsPathAll files/usr/openv/netbackup/bin/goodiesAll files/usr/openv/netbackup/helpSome files and directories/usr/openv/volmgrbackup_notifybackup_exit_notifybpend_notify(present only if used)bpend_notify_busy(present only if used)bpstart_notify(present only if used)dbbackup_notifydiskfull_notifyinitbpdbminitbprdrestore_notifysession_notifysession_start_notifyuserreq_notify/usr/openv/netbackup/bindrive_mount_notify(present only if used)drive_unmount_notify(present only if used)/usr/openv/volmgr/bin/goodiesshared_drive_notify/usr/openv/volmgr/bin103Upgrading server and client softwareAutomatic file changes from an upgrade
Upgrading server and client softwareAutomatic file changes from an upgrade104
RemovingNetBackupserversoftwareThis chapter includes the following topics:About NetBackup server software removal on UNIX systemsAbout NetBackup server software removal on UNIXsystemsNetBackup removal procedures remove NetBackup completely, along with anyinstalled add-on products. Each procedure gives you the opportunity to save anydata that you want and to remove add-on products before you remove NetBackup.Symantec recommends that you use the following order when you removeNetBackup server software:Save any data that you require.

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture