From 201314 the european union includes 28 member

This preview shows page 53 - 54 out of 108 pages.

From 2013/14 - the European Union includes 28 member states. • ‘-‘ means nil or negligible. • Cereals include wheat - rice and coarse grains. Coarse grains include maize - barley - sorghum - millet - rye - oats and NES (not elsewhere specified). Production Cereals : Data refer to the calendar year in which the whole harvest or bulk of harvest takes place. Utilization Cereals : Data are on individual country’s marketing year basis. Trade • Trade between European Union member states is excluded - unless otherwise stated. Wheat : Trade data include wheat flour in wheat grain equivalent. The time reference period is July/June - unless otherwise stated. Coarse grains : The time reference period is July/June - unless otherwise stated. Rice - dairy and meat products : The time reference period is January/ December. Oilseeds - oils and fats and meals : The time reference period is October/September - unless otherwise stated. Stocks Cereals : Data refer to carry-overs at the close of national crop seasons ending in the year shown. Price indices • The FAO price indices are calculated using the Laspeyres formula; the weights used are based on the average export value of each commodity for the 2002-2004 period. COUNTRY CLASSIFICATION In the presentation of statistical material - countries are subdivided according to geographical location as well as into the following two main economic groupings: “developed countries” (including the developed market economies and the transition markets) and “developing countries” (including the developing market economies and the Asia centrally planned countries). The designation “Developed” and “Developing” economies is intended for statistical convenience and does not necessarily express a judgement about the stage reached by a particular country or area in the development process. References are also made to special country groupings: Low-Income Food-Deficit Countries (LIFDCs) - Least Developed Countries (LDCs). The LIFDCs include 54 countries that are net importers of basic foodstuffs with per caput income below the level used by the World Bank to determine eligibility for International Development Aid (IDA) assistance (i.e. USD 1 945 in 2011). The LDCs group currently includes 48 countries with low income as well as weak human resources and low level of economic diversification. The list is reviewed every three years by the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations. DISCLAIMER The designations employed and the presentation of material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations concerning the legal status of any country - territory - city or area or of its authorities - or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.
Image of page 53

Subscribe to view the full document.

Image of page 54

{[ snackBarMessage ]}

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern