{[ promptMessage ]}

Bookmark it

{[ promptMessage ]}

DSST Business Ethics and Society-Study Guide 2

The kimberley process certification scheme kpcs is a

Info iconThis preview shows pages 2–4. Sign up to view the full content.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
The Kimberley Process Certification Scheme , (KPCS), is a process introduced by United Nations resolution 55/56 that is designed to certify the origin of rough diamonds from sources which are free of conflict fueled by diamond production. The
Background image of page 2

Info iconThis preview has intentionally blurred sections. Sign up to view the full version.

View Full Document Right Arrow Icon
process was established in 2003 to prevent rebel groups being financed by diamond sales. KPCS aims at preventing these blood diamonds from entering the mainstream rough diamond market. It was set up to assure consumers that by purchasing diamonds they were not financing war and human rights abuses. Blood diamonds are produced by slave labor and are also known as conflict diamonds . The Kyoto Protocol –The US has not ratified the protocol. Under the Kyoto Protocol (2005) industrialized nations are required to reduce their emissions of greenhouse gases. Greenhouse gases are produced when fossil fuels are burned. The Kyoto Protocol is a protocol to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC or FCCC), aimed at fighting global warming. The UNFCCC is an international environmental treaty with the goal of achieving "stabilization of greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere at a level that would minimize dangerous anthropogenic interference with the climate system The Protocol allows for several "flexible mechanisms", such as emissions trading, the clean development mechanism (CDM) and joint implementation to allow Annex I countries to meet their GHG emission limitations by purchasing GHG emission reductions credits from elsewhere, through financial exchanges, projects that reduce emissions in non-Annex I countries, from other Annex I countries, or from annex I countries with excess allowances. Each Annex I country is required to submit an annual report of inventories of all anthropogenic greenhouse gas emissions from sources and removals from sinks under UNFCCC and the Kyoto Protocol. These countries nominate a person (called a "designated national authority") to create and manage its greenhouse gas inventory. Occupational Safety and Health Administration ( OSHA ) is an agency of the US Department of Labor. If an employer repeatedly violates health and safety procedures, employees may file a grievance . Its mission is to prevent work-related injuries, illnesses, and occupational fatality by issuing and enforcing rules called standards for workplace safety and health. The agency is headed by a Deputy Assistant Secretary of Labor. The OSH Act, which created OSHA also created the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) as a research agency focusing on occupational health and safety. OSHA federal regulations cover most private sector workplaces. OSHA’s purpose is: encourage employers/employees to reduce workplace hazards and implement new or improve existing safety and health standards; provide for research in occupational safety and health and develop innovative ways of dealing with occupational safety and health problems;
Background image of page 3
Image of page 4
This is the end of the preview. Sign up to access the rest of the document.

{[ snackBarMessage ]}