NetBackup can use the disk pool but it may no longer match the intended purpose

Netbackup can use the disk pool but it may no longer

This preview shows page 103 - 106 out of 125 pages.

NetBackup can use the disk pool, but it may no longer match the intended purpose of the storage unit or storage lifecycle policy. Change the storage lifecycle policy definitions to ensure that the replication operations use the correct source and target disk pools, storage units, and storage unit groups. Alternatively, work with your storage administrator to change the volume properties back to their original values. Cancel . To discard the changes, click Cancel in the Change Disk Pool dialog box. NetBackup does not save the new disk pool properties. NetBackup can use the disk pool, but it may no longer match the intended use of the storage unit or storage lifecycle policy. The replication properties of all of the volumes changed, but they are still consistent. 103 Managing OpenStorage Managing OpenStorage disk pools
Image of page 103
Table 6-3 Refresh outcomes (continued) Description Outcome A Disk Pool Configuration Error pop-up box notifies you that the replication properties of some of the volumes in the disk pool changed. The properties of the volumes in the disk pool are not homogeneous. You must click OK in the alert box. In the Change Disk Pool dialog box, the properties of the disk pool are unchanged, and you cannot select them (that is, they are dimmed). However, the properties of the individual volumes are updated. Because the volume properties are not homogeneous, NetBackup cannot use the disk pool until the storage configuration is fixed. NetBackup does not display new volumes (if available) because the volumes already in the disk pool are not homogeneous. To determine what has changed, compare the disk pool properties to the volume properties. See “Viewing the replication topology for Auto Image Replication” on page 75. Work with your storage administrator to understand the changes and why they were made. The replication relationships may or may not have to be re-established. If the relationship was removed in error, re-establishing the relationships seem justified. If you are retiring or replacing the target replication device, you probably do not want to re-establish the relationships. The disk pool remains unusable until the properties of the volumes in the disk pool are homogenous. In the Change Disk Pool dialog box, click OK or Cancel to exit the Change Disk Pool dialog box. The replication properties of the volumes changed, and they are now inconsistent. 104 Managing OpenStorage Managing OpenStorage disk pools
Image of page 104
Table 6-3 Refresh outcomes (continued) Description Outcome A Disk Pool Configuration Alert pop-up box notifies you that an existing volume or volumes was deleted from the storage device: NetBackup can use the disk pool, but data may be lost. To protect against accidental data loss, NetBackup does not allow volumes to be deleted from a disk pool.
Image of page 105
Image of page 106

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture