The lymphatic organs are the lymph nodes thymus gland and spleen Lymph Nodes

The lymphatic organs are the lymph nodes thymus gland

This preview shows page 2 - 4 out of 4 pages.

The lymphatic organs are the lymph nodes, thymus gland, and spleen Lymph Nodes Lymph nodes are small pea-shaped patches of lymphatic tissue strategically located to filter the lymph as it flows through the lymphatic vessels. Lymph nodes tend to appear in clusters. Three of the larger clusters include the following: o Cervical lymph nodes drain and cleanse lymph coming from the head and neck areas. Enlarged, tender cervical lymph nodes often accompany upper respiratory infections. o Axillary lymph nodes are located in the axillary area, or armpit. o These nodes drain and cleanse lymph coming from the upper extremities, shoulders, and breast area. Cancer cells that leave the breast are often found in the axillary lymph nodes. Inguinal lymph nodes are located in the groin region. These nodes drain and cleanse lymph from the lower extremities and external genitalia
Image of page 2

Subscribe to view the full document.

A lymph node contains several compartments, called lymph nodules, that are separated by lymph sinuses. The lymph nodules are masses of lymphocytes and macrophages. The lymph nodules are separated by lymph sinuses; these are lymph-filled spaces. Thymus Gland The thymus gland is located in the mediastinum of the thoracic cavity. The thymus gland is relatively large in infancy and early childhood and shrinks after puberty. With advancing age, thymus tissue is gradually replaced with adipose and connective tissue. The thymus gland also secretes hormones called thymosins. Thymosins promote the proliferation and maturation of special lymphocytes (T cells) in lymphatic tissue throughout the body. Spleen The spleen is the largest lymphatic organ in the body. It is located in the left upper quadrant of the abdominal cavity, just beneath the diaphragm, and is normally protected by the lower rib cage. The spleen filters blood rather than lymph. The spleen is composed of two types of tissue: white pulp and red pulp. The white pulp is lymphatic tissue consisting primarily of lymphocytes surrounding arteries. The red pulp contains venous sinuses filled with blood and
Image of page 3
Image of page 4
  • Fall '19
  • right lymphatic duct

What students are saying

  • Left Quote Icon

    As a current student on this bumpy collegiate pathway, I stumbled upon Course Hero, where I can find study resources for nearly all my courses, get online help from tutors 24/7, and even share my old projects, papers, and lecture notes with other students.

    Student Picture

    Kiran Temple University Fox School of Business ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    I cannot even describe how much Course Hero helped me this summer. It’s truly become something I can always rely on and help me. In the end, I was not only able to survive summer classes, but I was able to thrive thanks to Course Hero.

    Student Picture

    Dana University of Pennsylvania ‘17, Course Hero Intern

  • Left Quote Icon

    The ability to access any university’s resources through Course Hero proved invaluable in my case. I was behind on Tulane coursework and actually used UCLA’s materials to help me move forward and get everything together on time.

    Student Picture

    Jill Tulane University ‘16, Course Hero Intern

Ask Expert Tutors You can ask 0 bonus questions You can ask 0 questions (0 expire soon) You can ask 0 questions (will expire )
Answers in as fast as 15 minutes