ANSWER If a project with storage is not shut down properly or the computer

Answer if a project with storage is not shut down

This preview shows page 409 - 412 out of 618 pages.

ANSWER: If a project with storage is not shut down properly or the computer crashes, the temporary file "Archsrv.tmp" is no longer deleted. After copying a project to another computer Storage no longer functions, because the temporary file still has the name of the original computer stored. Remedy: Delete the Archsrv.tmp file in the project path. 11.12.3 Storage settings with two redundant computers in the project duplicator Entry ID: 1623949 - Date: 12/14/1999 QUESTION: Which Storage settings do I have to make if I use tow redundant computers and the project duplicator? ANSWER: You have a PC in control room with OS software installed on it. You use a second computer both as engineering station and as OS. The OS project data is transferred via the project duplicator. Both computers are networked and the redundancy mode is activated. Now you want to activate Storage. You want to export the data to a second hard disk in the OS: Since you are using the project duplicator , you cannot have the same Storage settings on both computers .
Image of page 409
Operator Station Process Control System PCS 7, Tips and Tricks 11-156 A5E00080064-01 Solution: Install Storage on both computers . However, Delete should be active on only one of the computers. Background: If the data is not deleted on a computer without removable drive, subsequent archiving would have written the hard disk full after a time x. This would lead to a system crash. 11.12.4 Storage with redundant servers Entry ID: 1624279 - Date: 12/14/1999 QUESTION: What happens if I export the archive with Storage on just one of the redundant servers? ANSWER: You have two redundant servers. Now you want to export the archives with Storage on just one of the redundant servers. You have therefore set Storage so that with Server 1 the archive data is exported with Server 2 the relevant archive data is deleted . Problem: If you export the most recent data, there might be data inconsistency if there is an error. Supposing that it is the Server1 with Storage that loses the process connection. The new process data is received by Server2. If Storage on Server1 becomes active before the error is cleared and before database matching , then the data in export file is not consistent with the database on Server2. Remedy: Export the older data . You must set the time span for old data to meet your individual requirements. The time span must be large enough. During this time span the servers must have made a database match . Example: Server1 exports data that is one week old. During this week any errors must have been cleared. So there was already database matching for the data to be exported. The export file and the server databases always remain consistent.
Image of page 410
Operator Station Process Control System PCS 7, Tips and Tricks A5E00080064-01 11-157 11.12.5 Message: "Data medium full. Please change." Entry ID: 218471 - Date: 02/12/1998 QUESTION: When relocating with Storage you get the message: "Data medium full. Please change.". What is to be done?
Image of page 411
Image of page 412

You've reached the end of your free preview.

Want to read all 618 pages?

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

  • Left Quote Icon

    Student Picture

Stuck? We have tutors online 24/7 who can help you get unstuck.
A+ icon
Ask Expert Tutors You can ask You can ask You can ask (will expire )
Answers in as fast as 15 minutes