Download a PDF to print or study offline.

Study Guide
Cite This Study Guide

How to Cite This Study Guide

quotation mark graphic


Course Hero. "Theogony Study Guide." Course Hero. 25 Oct. 2017. Web. 18 Dec. 2018. <>.

In text

(Course Hero)



Course Hero. (2017, October 25). Theogony Study Guide. In Course Hero. Retrieved December 18, 2018, from

In text

(Course Hero, 2017)



Course Hero. "Theogony Study Guide." October 25, 2017. Accessed December 18, 2018.


Course Hero, "Theogony Study Guide," October 25, 2017, accessed December 18, 2018,

Theogony | Characters

Character Description
Zeus Zeus is the son of Kronos and the Olympian god of the sky. He is supreme ruler of the Olympian gods. Read More
Gaia Gaia, or Earth, is the original female goddess who bore later gods and monsters. Read More
Ouranos Ouranos, or Heaven, is the original male god born of Gaia, who bears him so he will lie atop her and produce children. He is father to the first generation of gods, the Titans. Read More
Kronos Kronos, the youngest of the Titans, is induced by his mother, Gaia, to castrate his father, Ouranos. Read More
Prometheus Prometheus is the son of Iapetos who repeatedly tricks Zeus in order to benefit mankind. Read More
Aphrodite Aphrodite is the Olympian goddess of love and beauty, born from the severed genitals of Ouranos.
Apollo Apollo, the son of Zeus and Leto, is twin brother of Artemis and Olympian god of light, healing, music, archery, and prophecy.
Ares Ares, the son of Zeus and Hera, is the Olympian god of war.
Artemis Artemis, the daughter of Zeus and Leto, is the twin brother of Apollo and goddess of the moon, hunting, and wild creatures.
Athene Born from the head of Zeus after he swallows the pregnant Metis, Athene is the Olympian goddess of wisdom, war, and arts and crafts. Her role will be to provide counsel to her father.
Atlas Atlas is the son of Prometheus and Klymene and brother of Prometheus, Epimetheus, and Menoitios. Zeus condemns him to forever hold up the sky for supporting the Titans.
Cyclopes Brontes, Steropes, and Arges are the single-eyed Cyclopes, sons of Ouranos and Gaia, who give Zeus the thunderbolt.
Demeter The daughter of Kronos and Rhea, Demeter is goddess of grain and agriculture, and mother of Persephone.
Erebos One of the first deities, Erebos copulates with his sister Night in order to produce Aether (Space) and Day. Later, Erebos is discussed as a region of the underworld.
Fates Clotho, Lachesis, and Atropos are the three Fates (Moirae) and daughters of Night, who determine each man's fate. In some stories they are thought to be the daughters of Zeus and Themis.
Hades The son of Kronos and Rhea, Hades is the lord of the underworld and ruler of the dead. He kidnaps Persephone.
Hebe The daughter of Zeus and Hera, Hebe is the cupbearer to the gods and wife of Heracles.
Hekate One of the original goddesses, Hekate is honored by Zeus after his victory over the Titans. She is goddess of magic and witchcraft and is believed to grant prosperity.
Hephaistos Usually thought of as the son of Hera alone, Hephaistos is the Olympian god of the forge, fire, and crafts.
Hera The daughter of Kronos and Rhea, Hera is the sister and wife of Zeus and the Olympian goddess associated with women and marriage. She is represented as jealous and quarreling even in this early source.
Heracles The son of Zeus and a mortal woman, Heracles is a great hero who performs the 12 labors and is admitted to Olympus after his death.
Hermes The son of Zeus and Maia, Hermes is the Olympian messenger god and god of commerce and trickery.
Hestia The daughter of Kronos and Rhea, Hestia is the Olympian goddess of hearth and home.
Hundred-handed monsters The sons of Ouranos and Gaia—Kottos, Briareus, and Gyes—are the hundred-handed monsters (hecatonchires) whom Ouranos imprisoned in Earth. Zeus later frees them, and they aid him in his war against the Titans.
Metis An Oceanid nymph who is the wisest of all deities, she becomes the first wife of Zeus, who swallows her while she is pregnant with Athene.
Muses The nine daughters of Zeus and Mnemosyne (Memory), the Muses are goddesses of poetry who speak through the mouths of poets like Hesiod. Their names are Melpomene, Thalia, Terpsichore, Erato, Euterpe, Clio, Calliope, Urania, and Polyhymnia.
Night Night (Nyx) is one of the first deities, a female who gives birth to a lot of unpleasant aspects of life.
Pandora The first woman, Pandora is a manufactured maiden, a "gift of all" the gods, intended to punish man.
Poseidon A son of Kronos and Rhea, Poseidon is the Olympian god of the sea, and is known as He Who Shakes the Earth.
Rhea Daughter of Ouranos and Gaia, Rhea is a Titan, the sister and wife of Kronos, and the mother of the first generation of Olympian deities.
Styx An Oceanid nymph, Styx joins Zeus in the war against the Titans and lives in the underworld by the river that bears her name. She also serves as the unbreakable oath of the Olympian gods.
Tartarus Tartarus is the lowest region of the underworld where the Titans are imprisoned after being defeated.
Themis A daughter of Ouranos and Gaia, Themis (Right) is the wife of Zeus and is thought to be the mother of Law, Justice, Peace, the Seasons, and (sometimes) the Fates.
Titans The Titans are the six sons and six daughters of Ouranos and Gaia whom Zeus and the Olympians overthrow.
Cite This Study Guide

information icon Have study documents to share about Theogony? Upload them to earn free Course Hero access!