This textbook is available Logo
Guide to Networking Essentials 8th Edition

Guide to Networking Essentials (8th Edition)

Book Edition8th Edition
SubjectComputer Science
Chapter 8, Network Switches in Depth, Hands-On Project, Exercise 8-1
Page 386

Putting the OSI Model Layers in Order


Time Required: 5 minutes


Objective: Correctly number and name the OSI model layers.


Required Tools and Equipment: Pencil


Description: In this project, you fill in the table with the correct OSI model layer numbers and names.


1. In the left column of the table, write the OSI model layer number, and in the right column, write the corresponding layer name.


OSI model layer numberOSI model layer name


Open Systems Interconnection (OSI) is an acronym for Open Systems Interconnection. It was created in 1984 by ISO - the International Organization for Standardization. It is a seven-layer architecture, with each layer performing distinct functions. These seven layers work together to send data from one person to another across the globe.



If faced any issue or have any questions regarding my answer, feel free to use the comment section.


Below are the correct name of the OSI model layers with correct order.

OSI Model Layer NumberOSI Model Layer Name
1Physical Layer
2Data Link Layer
3Network Layer
4Transport Layer
5Session Layer
6Presentation Layer
7Application Layer
Did you like this example?
Subscribe for full access
Page 386