2. Your company has estimated its total cost to be TC = 2000 + 7Q + 0.004Q2; its marginal cost is thus MC = 7 + 0.008Q, where Q is the quantity of units produced and TC is in dollars. Since your market is relatively competitive, your company is able to sell its output for $43 each (which thus yields MR = 43 and TR = 43Q).
a. Produce a chart in Excel showing TC and TR with Q on the horizontal axis. Have Q go from 0 to 10,000 units. Produce a second chart showing MC and MR with Q again on the horizontal axis."
b. What is the optimal level of output for your company to produce/sell? What is the marginal revenue from the last unit sold?
c. What are the total revenue, total cost, and profit (net benefit/net revenue/etc.) from selling the optimal number of units?
d. An eager intern at your company suggests that, since the company earns $43 revenue for each unit sold, then the company could make still more profit by selling more than the level chosen in part b; why would your company not want to produce and sell more output than the level you chose in part b?
Q*=4500 TR = 43*4500 =... View the full answer