You work for Adelaide-based Tourperience Ltd which provide tourists and visitors with 'experiences' ofAdelaide and South Australia. Your manager is currently investigating introducing another product, which are 'De-luxe' helicopter rides over the Barossa Valley. Each trip would be 50km in total.
Your manager wants you to use cost-volume-profit analysis in order to help assess the plan's feasibility. She provides you with the following estimated data:
Selling price per trip: $600 (total for 3 customers - trips only run with 3 customers)
Fuel: $50 per trip
Barossa 'goodie bag' per customer: $40
Helicopter rental per month: $20,000
Insurance per month (unlimited trips): $1,000
Pilot costs: $5,000 per month plus $100 per trip
Maintenance costs are difficult to estimate but data from a similar company in a different location shows that these monthly costs were $11,000 when 5,000 kms were flown and $5000 when 1,500 kms were flown.
REQUIRED: Calculate the following:
- 1) The Break-even point in trips per month (4 Marks)
- 2) The Break-even point in dollars of revenue per month (2 Marks)
- 3) Assuming a profit after tax requirement from the Helicopter trip business of $120,000 per year and a tax rate of 30%, calculate:
- a) Trips required per month to obtain target profit (4 Marks)
- b) Revenue required per month to obtain target profit (2 Marks)
Your manager has requested that the spreadsheet is easy to use for 'What-if' analysis - so she would like to be able to change some of the inputs to see the impact on the calculations above - for example, if the Helicopter were able to be rented more cheaply or the selling price was increased.
Hence 6 Marks are allocated to ease of use and accuracy for 'what-if' analysis (which will also depend on the formulas used)
2 marks are allocated for the general presentation of the spreadsheet.
Recently Asked Questions
- In the novel Frankenstein What does the author reveal about the death? How does the monster's death relate with today's point of views? How could this relate
- I ou have 4 rectangular plots with the followingmeasurements a) 1m by 3m b) 5m by 7m c) 13m by 15m d) 21m by 23m how do you determine which is most square and
- OPTIMIZATION OF SCARCE RESOURCES PQR Corporation is considering to produce the following products and other relevant information: Product A Product B Product C