Billings Company produces two products, Product Reno and Product Tahoe. Each product goes through its own assembly
and finishing departments. However, both of them must go through the painting department. The painting department has capacity of 2,460 hours per year. Product Reno has a unit contribution margin of $120 and requires 5 hours of painting department time. Product Tahoe has a unit contribution margin of $75 and requires 3 hours of painting department time. There are no other constraints.
Assume that only 500 units of each product can be sold.
1. What is the optimal mix of products?
2. What is the total contribution margin earned for the optimal mix?